The Enneagram Assessment

At its core, the Enneagram is a personality assessment that helps us see ourselves at a deeper, more objective level and can provide invaluable assistance on our path to self-knowledge. The Enneagram mocel describes nine different personality types and maps each of these types on a nine-pointed diagram which helps to illustrate how the types relate to one another. The name Enneagram comes from the Greek: Ennea is the Greek word for nine and Gramma means something that’s drawn or written.

According to the Enneagram, every personality has a certain world view and looks at the world through their own lens or filter. This makes it possible to explain why people behave in certain ways. By describing how the basic personality adapts and responds to both stressful and supportive situations, the Enneagram shows opportunities for personal development and provides a foundation for the understanding of others. Below are the nine personality types along with short descriptions of each.


Type 1 - The Reformer

One's are conscientious and ethical, with a strong sense of right and wrong. They are teachers, crusaders, and advocates for change: always striving to improve things. Well-organized, orderly, and fastidious, they try to maintain high standards. At their best they’re wise, discerning, realistic, and noble.


Type 2 - The Helper

Two's are empathetic, sincere, warmhearted, friendly, generous, and self-sacrificing. They are well-meaning and driven to be close to others. At their best they’re deeply unselfish, humble, and altruistic. They feel it is a privilege to be in the lives of others.


Type 3 - The Achiever

Three's are self-assured, attractive, and charming. Ambitious, competent, and energetic, they also are diplomatic and poised. At their best they’re self-accepting, authentic, and role models who inspire others.


Type 4 - The Individualist

Four's are self-aware, sensitive, and reserved. They are emotionally honest, creative, and personal. They are true to themselves and able to transform all their experiences into something valuable. At their best they’re inspired and highly creative; they are able to renew themselves and transform their experiences.


Type 5 - The Investigator

Five's are alert, insightful, and curious. They are able to concentrate and focus on developing complex ideas and skills while being independent, innovative, and inventive. At their best they‘re visionary pioneers, often ahead of their time, able to see the world in an entirely new way.


Type 6 - The Loyalist

Six's are reliable, hardworking, responsible, and trustworthy. Excellent "troubleshooters," they foresee problems and foster cooperation. At their best they’re internally stable and self-reliant, courageously championing themselves and others.


Type 7 - The Enthusiast 

Seven's are extroverted, optimistic, versatile, and spontaneous, approaching life with a sense of adventure. Playful, high-spirited, and practical, they constantly seek new and exciting experiences. At their best they focus their talents on worthwhile goals, becoming appreciative, joyous, and satisfied.


Type 8 - The Challenger

Eight's are protective, self-confident, strong, and assertive. They enjoy taking on challenges as well as challenging others by giving them opportunities for growth. At their best they use their abundant energy to effect change, improving others' lives, becoming heroic, magnanimous, and inspiring.


Type 9 - The Peacemaker

Nine's are accepting, trusting, and stable. They are usually creative, optimistic, and supportive, and work to achieve peace and harmony in their world. At their best they’re calming and all-embracing, able to bring people together and heal conflicts.


Unsure of which type best describes you?

Click here to take the assessment and find out more.